It's long been impossible for users to move an asset from one space to another. But we saw how some situations or human decisions can lead to assets to get created in one space, but then need to be moved to another. Organizational changes can also be a reason, why some some spaces need to be cleared out, or merged with other spaces.
We've introduced an enhancement that enables users with manage permissions to
move assets to a different space
Visual 1:
The ability to move
an asset is available both through the asset cards, as through the action menu on the asset page. The item 'Move asset' opens a dialog, that enables you to choose a different space for the asset to be moved to.
Visual 2:
While an asset always sits in one space - its individual versions can be
assigned to projects. In the case of an asset getting moved to a new space, those asset versions' relations to those projects stay in tact. This is a deliberate choice, not to interfere with historical context: it's those projects, that the asset was meaningful to (as the reason to be created, typically). That said, the asset itself will no longer show in relation to the original space after the move.